Running in the Dark

I managed to only hit snooze twice this morning, which still left a little time to get in a run and officially kick-off training. Roughly 4.25 miles in 50 minutes. I don’t use a Garmin or other monitoring device so I just guess at it. It makes races interesting though when I tell my family I will be crossing the half marathon finish line sometime between two and four hours. Just look for the speed walkers, I’ll be somewhere back there.

Anyone else finding that these shorter days are making running much more challenging?
With a toddler and a full-time job, mornings are my best option for running but I’m not comfortable with or coordinated enough for running in the dark. I usually head to a 1.5 mile walking track that is lit…kind of.

At least there is a pretty regular crowd there. There are the two older gentlemen who must arrive sometime before 5:30 a.m., which is about the earliest I ever make it there, and leave precisely at 5:45. Another two older gentlemen arrive at 6 a.m. I want to tell them about each other so that they can meet in the middle and all be friends.

Today was also a monumental day in the life of my two-year-old, who received his first haircut. I was sad to do it because he has these awesome blonde curls, but it was starting to get a little out of control. The barber, who also cuts my husband’s hair, was very tolerant of my crazy photo taking and hysterical sobbing. J-roll took it all pretty well and we celebrated the occasion with milkshakes after dinner.

If anyone is reading this (and I greatly appreciate it if you are!) I will try to post some pictures and get the blog looking a little better as the week goes on. This is new to me so just hang with me.
Also, I changed the name from slowmotherunner to toughmotherrunner after noticing the previous name was already being used when I bothered to do a Google search (see, I told you I was new at this!) Don’t worry, I’m still slow . . . just tough too.
Plus, I already have a shirt that says tough mother runner so double win really.
Happy running!

20110913-090204.jpg

Goodbye sweet curls.

Leave a Reply

